The Alliance For Young Artists And Writers Creative Challenge


3D Systems Corporation (NYSE:DDD) announced today that it has partnered with the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the prestigious, national non-profit organization that presents The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, to introduce a new Creative Challenge, the “Future New”. Students across America can now submit entries for the “Future New” challenge in 3D. The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program is the nation’s longest-running educational initiative supporting student achievement in the visual and literary arts. Since its inception, the program has recognized countless young artists and writers including Andy Warhol, Robert Redford, Philip Pearlstein, Richard Avedon, Zac Posen, Joyce Carol Oates, Sylvia Plath, John Lithgow,

John Baldessari, Ned Vizzini, Myla Goldberg and Ken Burns who each won when they were in high school.
To honor The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards’ 90th anniversary, the Alliance and 3D Systems challenge students to be bold and make innovative art using 3D printing. “Future New” entries should be experimental in nature, and students are encouraged to harness the latest 3D design tools like Cubify® Invent to unleash their creativity and bring their boundary-breaking, conceptually and socially-driven works to life.
“We are excited to partner with Alliance for Young Artists & Writers to inspire students to create the ‘Future New,’ making good on our commitment to democratize access to 3D design and printing tools for the benefit of students across America,” said 3D Systems CEO, Abe Reichental. “We look forward to seeing how America’s young talent meets our challenge, and hope to ignite in students the passion to master tomorrow’s competitive skills today.”
Entries will be judged on originality, technical skill and the emergence of personal voice. 3D Systems will award the top three entries in the “Future New” category with a $1,000 scholarship prize. Information on how to enter the 2013 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards “Future New” is available here. Winners will be announced in the spring of 2013.
Link www: